Opened 7 years ago

Closed 7 years ago

Last modified 7 years ago

#4733 closed defect (fixed)

Fix the warning shown on the change of username in My Settings->aboutme

Reported by: gp94 Owned by: gp94
Priority: Normal Milestone: Unspecified
Component: Sugar Version: Git as of bugdate
Severity: Minor Keywords: sugar-build
Cc: Distribution/OS: Ubuntu
Bug Status: New

Description

When the user writes a new username in the field, then after a given timeout a warning is shown in it, which says that to get the changes done one should restart the computer. When we change the name to the one that was the initial one, the warning should go away and the restart shouldn't be required, but still the warning is shown.

Steps to reproduce the error

  1. Go to My Settings and then click the About Me option.
  2. Change the username in the field.
    • A warning is shown that a restart is required.
  3. Change the username back to the initial one. *The warning still remains there.

I have attached the screenshots of the error.
I am running on the latest sugar-build pull with a host system running on Ubuntu 13.10(64-bit).

Attachments (3)

initial.png (69.4 KB) - added by gp94 7 years ago.
after_focus.png (71.1 KB) - added by gp94 7 years ago.
final.png (71.2 KB) - added by gp94 7 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (8)

Changed 7 years ago by gp94

Changed 7 years ago by gp94

Changed 7 years ago by gp94

comment:1 Changed 7 years ago by ana-balica

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

Fix #4733 - remove warning on username change

If the user changes the username on My Setting -> About me view and then
reverts it to the initial username, remove the warning about restart.

Changeset: 47370e9c9a0a2e437bc4229e267fc04b77245d2c

comment:2 Changed 7 years ago by manuq

  • Resolution fixed deleted
  • Status changed from closed to reopened

Reopening because this needs more work, see
https://github.com/sugarlabs/sugar/pull/257#issuecomment-36048170

comment:3 Changed 7 years ago by manuq

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from reopened to closed

Fixed by @ana-balica in commit eed15fef .

comment:4 Changed 7 years ago by ana-balica

Fix #4733 - remove warning on username change

If the user changes the username on My Setting -> About me view and then
reverts it to the initial username, remove the warning about restart.

Changeset: 88da6648c3db750691897535f36104789f8b879c

comment:5 Changed 7 years ago by ana-balica

Fix #4733 - remove warning on username change

If the user changes the username on My Setting -> About me view and then
reverts it to the initial username, remove the warning about restart.

Changeset: 47370e9c9a0a2e437bc4229e267fc04b77245d2c

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.