Opened 9 years ago

Closed 8 years ago

#3195 closed defect (notsugar)

cancel button on the software update screen does not work correctly

Reported by: dfarning Owned by: m_anish
Priority: Unspecified by Maintainer Milestone: Unspecified
Component: Dextrose Version: Unspecified
Severity: Unspecified Keywords: DX3 QA
Cc: Distribution/OS: Dextrose
Bug Status: Unconfirmed

Description

If the software update process has frozen. (see #3194 ) The cancel button at the bottom of the screen does not cause the process to cancel.

Interestingly the cancel button in the top right corner works as expected.

DX3 41
OX 1.5

Attachments (1)

0001-sl-3195-Same-behaviour-of-cancel-buttons-in-Software.patch (3.2 KB) - added by ajay_garg 9 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (4)

comment:1 Changed 9 years ago by sascha_silbe

  • Component changed from untriaged to Dextrose
  • Owner set to m_anish

comment:2 Changed 9 years ago by ajay_garg

The patch "0001-sl-3195-Same-behaviour-of-cancel-buttons-in-Software.patch", along with "0002-sl-3194-Notify-user-of-connection-not-available-in-S.patch" (ticket sl#3194), can be tested as follows ::

  1. Disconnect any network.
  1. Go to Software-Update.
  1. Since the network is not outright available, the message "Cannot check for updates. Please check your internet connection, and try running Software Update again" will appear. Now, the only way to restart the operation is that user goes out, and re-enters the Software- Update section.
  1. Come out of the Software-Update section.
  1. Connect to the network.
  1. Go to Software-Update.
  1. Now, the "Checking for updates" message should appear, and operation should proceed.
  1. If "Cancel" is clicked anytime, it will have the same effect, as the "X" button on the toolbar (in this case, exit from the section-view).
  1. One particular use-case -- if the network is available at the start, but goes out midway, then the user will be stuck at "Checking for updates" message. Following two things may then happen ::

(i) network returns after some time -- Then, the operation WILL proceed to completion (confirmed by testing).

(ii) network does not return -- The same message "Checking for updates" will continue to be seen. User may exit (by clicking "cancel", or "X").

comment:3 Changed 8 years ago by dnarvaez

  • Resolution set to notsugar
  • Status changed from new to closed

Dextrose is not tracked here anymore.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.