Opened 8 years ago

Closed 5 years ago

#2988 closed enhancement (obsolete)

When closing an unnammed activity, have option to erase it

Reported by: HoboPrimate Owned by: garycmartin
Priority: Unspecified by Maintainer Milestone: Unspecified
Component: design Version: 0.92.x
Severity: Unspecified Keywords:
Cc: Distribution/OS: Fedora
Bug Status: Unconfirmed

Description

It just might be the case that an unnammed activity isn't wanted to be kept. What if you added the Erase button to that Naming window, thus having an easy way to avoid cluttering the journal without worthless stuff.

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 8 years ago by walter

Since the Naming Alert is being phased out, probably not relevant.

comment:2 Changed 8 years ago by sascha_silbe

This has been argued about before. And while there should be some way to discard the changes, it must not be a different choice inside the exit dialog, but rather as an explicit action within the main UI. The standard confirmation dialog on exit from most applications gets this horribly wrong. Allow me to cite from my own thesis:

One of the steps on the path to more usable computer systems is preserving previous work done by the user. Current systems completely fail to serve the need of their users. The best example for it is the infamous confirmation dialog box which appears when closing an application that has unsaved changes (see fig. 1.1):
A dialogue is triggered which asks the user to clarify her intent.
The question boils down to the destruction of either the old or the new version of the document. Although the wording of the dialogue improved http://www.yes-no-cancel.co.uk/2007/07/19/yes-no-cancel-causes-aspirin-sales-to-soar/ Kle07, the underlying problem remains unsolved -- keeping the wrong version occurs frequently http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20081226062554AAZIk7o Ans09],[http://www.google.com/search?q=recover+unsaved&btnG=Search Goo10.

comment:3 Changed 5 years ago by godiard

  • Resolution set to obsolete
  • Status changed from new to closed

The close window does not exist anymore. Part of this issue (fill the journal) was already solved opening by default the last instance.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.